NHS Induction 2021


Morgan Moomey, Jr. Editor

According to nhs.us, “The National Honor Society (NHS) elevates commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership and character. These four pillars have been associated with membership in the organization since its inception in 1921.” 

On March 22, 2021, the Newberry-Pate Chapter of National Honor Society Induction took place. Before induction, the Society only had ten members. These members were Saphina Achi, Shawna Banks, Chloe Blumanthal, Courtney Cox, Kelsey Horton, Regan Lambert, Shaylee Messersmith, Jayce Meyring, Caisey Pfeiffer and Calysta Trevino. Now, there are a total of 27 members in the National Honor Society.

Juniors and seniors who had at least a 3.6 GPA were given the opportunity to apply by submitting a thorough application to a board of five staff members who select inductees based on their routine convention of the four pillars of NHS. This years board members were Mrs. Sydnie Jeffery, Mrs. Ashtyn Vivion, Mr. Ryan Wurdeman, Ms. Andrea Jay and Mrs. Kathy Brock. 

The induction commenced with President Shaylee Messersmith welcoming the guests and leading the Pledge of Allegiance. Next, Secretary Saphina Achi presented a brief history of NHS. Vice-President, Courntey Cox, then gave a brief history of the Newberry-Pate chapter of NHS. The microphone was then handed off to Public Relations Officer, Kelsey Horton and Service Project Coordinator, Shawna Banks. Horton and Banks took turns discussing the four pillars of NHS: Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character. After that, the current and new inductees recited the Honor Society Pledge. Messersmith then presented the junior inductees with their certificates and pins, and Mrs. Angie Hiemstra, the NHS director, gave the senior members their cords. Induction ended with parting comments from Assistant Principal, Mrs. Tera Digmann, and closing comments from President Shaylee Messersmith. 

The first NHS meeting with the new inductees will take place on April 8, 2021. Congrats to all of the new inductees. Your hard work and determination has paid off!